Frequently Asked Questions

Below are some of our frequently asked questions. If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us.

  1. How much are new Mass License Plates?
  2. How Do I Take A car Off My Policy In Mass?
  3. Is there any advantage of buying car insurance online?
  4. How many points do I get for a speeding ticket or moving violation in Massachusetts?
  5. How Does SDIP Rating In Massachusetts Work?
  6. What are vthe rules for transferring plates in Massachusetts?
  7. Rules to Convert Out Of State Registration To Massachusetts.
How much are new Mass License Plates?
New License Plates for Personal Auto as of May 2015 are
$60 but we all that can change. Check for the most up to date Department of Transportation in for the Registry of Motor Vehicles at 
Mass RMV Fee Schedule

Back to Top

How Do I Take A car Off My Policy In Mass?
To Remove a vehicle from your policy you must either cancel the plates online and give your agent the Plate Return Receipt OR transfer the plates to another vehicle. Go to Online Transaction To Cancel Plates
You will need your Social Security Number and your Drivers License Number as well as the plate Number.

Don't forget the receipt needs to be saved to your computer and emailed to your agent and followed up that it was received with request to remove or print and mail or drop off. It is always the owner of the vehicles responsibility to follow thru with their requests.

Back to Top

Is there any advantage of buying car insurance online?
Why do people buy insurance online when a local agent can serve them better. Are there any and advantages of buying car insurance online?
It is more of a danger because what we see is people need an agent to help them understand what coverage they need.

We have been shocked at what some online shoppers end up with unless they know what they are doing. An agent knows your state and
the insurance laws where an online quote could have you leaving off some important coverage.

Would you know where to make sure you have waiver of deductible if you were not at fault in an accident and could prove it?

Would you know where to look to make sure if you had a glass deductible or not?

Would you know which coverage covers the other persons auto or what ever you may hit and how to make sure you chose the right amount?

Would you know if you covered yourself for coverage for lost wages?

The list goes on so we suggest you have a trusted agent locally.

Back to Top

How many points do I get for a speeding ticket or moving violation in Massachusetts?

The number of surcharge points assigned to each surchargeable incident is determined by the incident classification defined in the
Safe Driver Insurance Plan:

Minor Traffic Law Violation..............
2 points
Minor At-Fault Accident.................. 3 points
Major At-Fault Accident.................. 4 points
Major Traffic Law Violation.............. 5 points

Back to Top

How Does SDIP Rating In Massachusetts Work?

How Your Operator SDIP Rating Works In Massachusetts

The Safe Driver Insurance Plan is a point-based system. Each operator is assigned an Operator SDIP Rating based on the operator's driving history record within the 6-year policy experience period. Most Insurers use this!

Operator Surcharge Point Range: 00 through 45
An operator's SDIP Rating is the sum of the surcharge points of the surchargeable incidents in the operator's 6-year policy experience period.

The total number of surcharge points is 00 if there are no surchargeable incidents in the 6-year policy experience period, unless the operator is eligible for one of the following discounts:

Excellent Driver Discount Plus: Credit Code (99)
This discount is for operators who have been licensed and incident-free for 6 or more years.

Excellent Driver Discount: Credit Code (98)
This discount is for operators who have been licensed and incident-free during the most recent 5 years.

An operator may be eligible for the Excellent Driver Discount (98) with one surchargeable incident. Learn more in SDIP Incentives and Your Policy.

An incident-free year is a year in which your driving record contains no surchargeable incidents. This is different from a year that contains no surcharge points. For example, you may have a year with a surchargeable incident, but there are no surcharge points assigned to this incident because an SDIP incentive or forgiveness factor applies.

For the purposes of the SDIP, you are considered an experienced operator if you have been actively licensed for the 6-year period immediately preceding your policy effective date. Experienced operators with clean driving records benefit from SDIP incentives. To learn more about SDIP incentives, go to SDIP Incentives and Your Policy.

Back to Top

What are vthe rules for transferring plates in Massachusetts?

Fees When Transferring Plates
To transfer a plate from one vehicle to another of the same type, the fee is $25.00 (effective 5/12/2008). A $75.00 title fee and the  sales tax will need to be paid. Follow the above link to the Mass Registry site for more info.

An individual, corporation or company may transfer an existing registration from one vehicle to another but these following conditions apply:

  • The registration is active.
  • The owners on the registration will not change.
  • Both vehicles conform to the same plate standards.

Period for Transferring a Registration?
If you own a vehicle or trailer and purchase a new vehicle or trailer from a dealer or purchase a used vehicle or trailer from a private party, you may transfer your registration to the newly acquired vehicle. Massachusetts allows a grace period of seven (7) calendar days from the date you dispose of your previous vehicle to register your newly acquired vehicle.

Under this grace period, the following conditions must be met:

  • You must be at least 18 years old.
  • The newly acquired vehicle or trailer must be of the same type and have the same number of wheels as the previous vehicle or trailer.
  • You must carry the transfer documents, which show the registration number to be transferred, in your vehicle.
  • You must have lost possession of or disposed of your previous vehicle.
  • The registration plates must be attached to the newly acquired vehicle.

Please note, there is no grace period if you do not currently have a registered vehicle or trailer. The RMV does not issue temporary registration plates.

Back to Top

Rules to Convert Out Of State Registration To Massachusetts.

What Vehicles Are  Exempt from Massachusetts Sales Tax?

If while a resident of another state your vehicle was either purchased and registered in that state for more than six (6) months or purchased in Massachusetts more than six (6) months ago but was delivered to you out of Massachusetts by the seller, you are exempt from paying Massachusetts sales tax.

When registering a vehicle purchased in Massachusetts that was delivered to another state, you must submit a copy of the bill of sale or dealer invoice, and a copy of your Letter of Delivery, which must be signed under the pains and penalties of perjury. The Letter of Delivery must include all of the following information:

  • The name, address, and telephone number of the seller
  • The name of the person who delivered the vehicle
  • The date the vehicle was delivered
  • The address to which the vehicle was delivered
  • The name of the person who took delivery of the vehicle
  • The vehicle’s odometer reading before and after the delivery
  • The method of delivery (e.g., driven by salesperson, on seller’s truck)
  • The signature of the seller or an authorized representative if a dealer

Note: If the seller is a dealer or company, the Letter of Delivery must be on the dealership or company letterhead.

To Process an Out-of-State Conversion:

  1. Fill out an Affidavit in Support for Exemption from Sales or Use Tax for a Motor Vehicle Purchased Outside of Massachusetts (MVU-29).

    This form is available at any full service RMV branch office. See Our Document Library For This Form.

  2. You then must go to a licensed Massachusetts insurance agent to obtain an active insurance policy and have the agent complete, stamp and sign an Application for Registration and Title (RMV-1).

    If there is a lien against the vehicle, you will be required to surrender your out-of-state registration rather than your out-of-state title. In this case, the RMV-1 must note the complete lienholder information and the out-of-state title number.

  3. After verifying all information, sign the RMV-1 application.

    Along with the completed RMV-1 application, you must submit the following documents:

    • Your out-of-state title, if there is no lienholder.
    • Your current out-of-state registration, if the vehicle was exempt from title due to its age or currently has a lienholder.
    • Completed Sales Tax Exemption form (MVU-29).


  4. Take the completed RMV-1 application and MVU-29 form and supporting documents to the nearest full service RMV branch office.

After completing the transaction, you will receive a registration certificate, new plates and a year of expiration decal for the rear plate. The title will be processed and mailed in approximately six (6) to eight (8) weeks. If you have a loan on the vehicle, the title will be mailed directly to your lienholder.

Back to Top

Auto Quote Home Quote Life Quote Business Quote Auto, Home, Life, Business

Automobile Insurance Business Insurance Homeowners Insurance Motorcycle & Boat Insurance
Join Our Newsletter Partners Program Refer A Friend Get A Quote
Home About Service Center Blog Resources ContactGet A Quote
Universal Insurance Agency Inc | 374 Belmont Street, Worcester, MA 01604 | 508-752-9333 Powered by Insurance Website Builder
Blog RSS Feed Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus
Universal Insurance Agency, Inc., Insurance Agency, Worcester, MA